U.S. flag signifying that this is a United States Federal government website An official website of the United States government


Railroad-Shipper Transportation Advisory Council

The Railroad-Shipper Transportation Advisory Council (RSTAC) was established pursuant to the ICC Termination Act of 1995 (49 U.S.C. § 1325, formerly § 725).  Its 15 appointed members consist of senior officials representing large and small shippers, and large and small railroads.  In addition, the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation and the five Board Members serve as ex officio members.  The RSTAC provides advice on regulatory, policy and legislative matters, as appropriate, to the STB Board Members, the Secretary of Transportation, the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, and the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.  For questions about RSTAC, contact the Board’s Office of Public Assistance, Governmental Affairs and Compliance at 202-245-0238 or rcpa@stb.gov.


—  Mission Statement

—  Members

—  RSTAC Materials


Mission Statement

To work together as a council of rail advocates on a common goal to strengthen the national rail industry, improve service levels and foster mutually beneficial relationships between large and small railroads and shippers, across all commodity groups.  To that end, we will address improvements in the primary issues of capacity constraints and the evolution of merchandise carload network including the elements that impact them and bring forth recommendations for improvement.




Nate Asplund
President and CEO
Florida East Coast Railway
7150 Phillips Highway
Jacksonville, FL  32256
Email:  Nathan.Asplund@fecrwy.com

Vice Chairman

Mark Wegner
President & CEO,
Twin Cities & Western Railroad


Mathew Brainerd
Brainerd Chemical, Inc.

Lawrence C. Malski
Pennsylvania Northeast Regional Railroad Authority

Terrence E. McDermott
Director of Supply Chain
Bunge North America

Michael Peters
Senior Vice President
Genesee & Wyoming Railroad Services, Inc.

Ben Abrams
President & CEO
Consolidated Scrap Resources, Inc.

Arthur Adams, Jr.
Vice President Merchandise Sales
CSX Transportation

Brandy D. Christian
President & CEO
Port of New Orleans

Kevin Murray
Vice President of Supply Chain
Red Gold, Inc.

W. Paul Delp
Lansdale Warehouse Company

Mike Bilovesky
Vice President, Sales & Marketing Agriculture and Minerals Business Unit
Kansas City Southern

Kari A. Kirchhoefer
Vice President—Industrial
Union Pacific Railroad Co.

Holly Pixler
Ardent Mills
Senior Director of Transportation and Logistics

Robert C. McRae
Senior Director, Transportation
PepsiCo Beverages, North America – South Division

RSTAC Materials

Annual Reports

Meeting Minutes (by date)

White Papers, Position Papers, & Resolutions