Minutes Rail Energy Transportation Advisory Committee September 15, 2011

The Surface Transportation Board's Rail Energy Transportation Advisory Committee (RETAC) convened at the Hyatt Regency in Tulsa, Oklahoma on Thursday September 15, 2011. Co-Chairs William Berg and Steve Bobb called the meeting to order at approximately 8:00 a.m. The meeting agenda and copies of referenced documents presented during the meeting are attached separately to the e-mail distributing these minutes.

Attendance:

Surface Transportation Board:

Daniel R. Elliott III, Chairman Ann D. Begeman, Vice Chairman Francis P. Mulvey, Commissioner

Scott Zimmerman, Designated Federal Officer

RETAC Members:

William Berg, Co-chairman Steve Bobb, Co-chairman

Susan Arigoni	Paul Hammes	Daniel Sabin
Sameer Gaur	John Hull	Ed McKechnie
John Gray	Tony Reck	Betsy Monseu
Daryl Haack	Henry Rupert	Mark Hamilton
•	James Stem	Darrell Wallace

Chairman Elliott, Vice Chairman Begeman and Commissioner Mulvey welcomed the committee. Commissioner Mulvey commented on a shippers association meeting he attended earlier in the week. There was a high level of interest and commentary on shale well fracking.

Co-chairs Berg and Bobb also welcomed the committee. They reviewed the meeting agenda as well as the procedures for those attending the post-meeting EOG facility tour. In addition, they requested that RETAC members introduce themselves for the benefit of Vice Chairman Begeman, who was attending her first RETAC meeting since being appointed to the Board.

Minutes of the April 6, 2011 meeting were approved.

Betsy Monseu provided a Performance Measures Subcommittee report, copy attached. Railroad representatives provided discussion of the current status of delays/repairs as a result of recent widespread flooding.

Kristi Moore, Technical Director for the Renewable Fuels Association, provided an ethanol industry update. Her comments were in reference to the attached presentation, Ethanol Industry Update. Following her remarks, Ms. Moore addressed questions.

Susan Arigoni and Henry Rupert were elected to two-year terms as co-chairs of the Committee, succeeding outgoing co-chairs Stevan Bobb and William Berg, who will continue to serve on the Committee as representatives. Bob Hulick was elected to serve an additional 2-year term as RETAC secretary-treasurer.

Roundtable discussions were held for the following topics:

- Need for a Best Practices White Paper on ethanol?
 - o The Renewable Fuels Association has a Best Practices paper available for review.
 - o The current RETAC Best Practices paper was viewed as a good fit as well.
- Prospects for a Presidential Emergency Board to resolve a rail labor dispute later in 2011?
- Export capability
- Pipelines for crude oil vs rail
- Potential environmental regulatory changes possibly a topic for future discussion

The next meeting of the Committee was set for March 1, 2012 at the Surface Transportation Board offices in Washington, D.C.

Ed McKechnie described the EOG facility tour which was to take place immediately following the meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 10:00 a.m.