

## Surface Transportation Board Washington, D.C. 20423-0001

202-245-0260 FAX 202-245-0460

Meeting under Section 5, STB Reauthorization Act

January 14, 2021

Present: Members Begeman, Fuchs, Oberman, Primus, and Schultz

Staff Rachel Campbell, Anika Cooper, Allison Davis, Ellen Erichsen,

Amanda Gorski, Craig Keats, Lisa Novins, Valerie Quinn, Janie Sheng, and

Michael Small

Topic: Briefing Board Membership on Process

Summary of the Matters Discussed, Prepared by General Counsel Craig Keats:

At this meeting, staff briefed the five Board Members on certain processes for handling agency business. Topics included legislative changes made by the STB Reauthorization Act of 2015, including the provisions authorizing "Section 5" nonpublic collaborative discussions and those providing for an additional two member seats on the Board. Staff and Members also discussed the Government in the Sunshine Act (and related authorities) as related to a five-member Board.