

Surface Transportation Board Washington, D.C. 20423-0001

September 28, 2021

The Honorable Jared Huffman 1527 Longworth House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Albio Sires 2268 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson 2306 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Alan Lowenthal 108 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Adriano Espaillat 2332 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Marie Newman 1022 Longworth House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable J. Luis Correa 2301 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Anthony G. Brown 1323 Longworth Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Al Lawson 2437 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Mike Quigley 2078 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Marilyn Strickland 1004 Longworth House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Bonnie Watson Coleman 168 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Ritchie Torres 317 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Suzanne Bonamici 2231 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kai Kahele 1205 Longworth House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Julia Brownley 2262 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Marc Veasey 2348 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Juan Vargas 2244 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Abigail D. Spanberger 1431 Longworth House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Salud Carbajal 2331 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kurt Schrader 2431 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger 2206 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Pete Aguilar 109 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Suzan K. DelBene 2330 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Seth Moulton 1127 Longworth House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Tom O'Halleran 318 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Robin L. Kelly 2416 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Stephen F. Lynch 2109 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Lori Trahan 2439 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Emanuel Cleaver, II 2335 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mark DeSaulnier 503 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Troy A. Carter, Sr. 506 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mikie Sherrill 1414 Longworth House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Sean Patrick Maloney 464 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jake Auchincloss 1524 Longworth House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Ed Case 2210 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Grace F. Napolitano 1610 Longworth House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable André Carson 2135 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable A. Donald McEachin 314 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Representatives Huffman, Quigley, Sires, Strickland, Johnson, Coleman, Lowenthal, Torres, Espaillat, Bonamici, Newman, Kahele, Correa, Brownley, Brown, Veasey, Lawson, Vargas, Spanberger, Cleaver, II, Carbajal, DeSaulnier, Schrader, Carter, Sr., Ruppersberger, Sherrill, Aguilar, Maloney, DelBene, Auchincloss, Moulton, Case, O'Halleran, Napolitano, Kelly, Carson, Lynch, McEachin, and Trahan:

Thank you for your recent letter regarding the important work freight railroads and their employees continue to undertake to meet U.S. transportation demands as the nation recovers from the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as on investment in the freight rail industry and the environmental benefits of rail. We appreciate hearing your views on these matters.

Consistent with the policy objectives set by Congress contained in the rail transportation policy at 49 U.S.C. § 10101, the Board has adhered to the view that a competitive, sound, and efficient freight rail industry, as a key component of the Nation's transportation marketplace, is critical to the success of our larger economy. With respect to environmental issues, the STB must consider environmental impacts while undertaking certain of its work, and, more broadly, the rail transportation policy also sets forth that the Board "encourage and promote energy conservation." The Board will continue to pursue matters on its agenda that further the rail transportation policy and will continue its commitment to maintaining a strong national rail network.

A copy of your letter has been added to the STB website as Non-Docketed Correspondence. If you or your staff have any additional questions or comments, please contact us or Ms. Janie Sheng, Acting Director of the Board's Office of Public Assistance, Governmental Affairs, and Compliance, at 202-245-0238.

Sincerely,

Martin J. Oberman

Chairman

Robert E. Primus Vice Chairman

Ann D. Begeman

Member

Patrick J. Fuchs

Member

Michelle A. Schultz

Member